EWC Recognizes Agriculture Students at Annual Awards Banquet

Thursday, May 10, 2018

The 2018 Eastern Wyoming College Agriculture Awards Banquet sponsored in part by Cargill and the Sagebrush and Roses Committee was held April 18 on the Torrington campus.


“It was nice to see a record number of parents show up to eat dinner with us and celebrate the accomplishments of the Ag students. The meal was exceptional too, cooked by the EWC cafeteria with the tenderloins being donated by Cargill Meat Solutions with the help of Matt Moore, local buyer,” stated Division Chair, Dr. Monte Stokes.


Each year the department recognizes its outstanding sophomore and freshmen students based on their academic performance, involvement within the campus and agriculture, and their proposed future involvement in agriculture beyond EWC.  This year four freshman and four sophomores were honored at the banquet.


Sophomores:  Jory Carson, Lynch, NE; Hunter Hill, Scottsbluff, NE; Tigh Livermont, Wanblee, SD; and Emma Zerbe, Lusk, WY captured the Sophomore Top Hand Awards. Carson is an Agriculture Education major and competes with the EWC Livestock Judging and Show Teams. He is an officer in Block and Bridle and plans to return to production agriculture.


Hill served as the EWC Student Senate President this year and is a resident hall assistant.  He is also a member of the Livestock Judging and Show teams.  Hill was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa last spring and plans to transfer to the University of Wyoming to complete his degree in Agriculture Education.


Livermont finished 3rd runner up at the Miss Indian Rodeo Pageant this past fall and is a work study for the Cosmetology Department.  She serves the college as the Vice President for Student Senate and plans to transfer to Chadron State College this fall to complete her Bachelor of Science.


Zerbe is also a member of Phi Theta Kappa and serves as the treasurer for the student senate.  Zerbe works for the foundation office and plans to transfer to the University of Wyoming in the fall. 


Freshmen:  Myca Cantrell, Hot Springs, SD; Jacob Lolley, Murdo, SD; Sadie Schwartzkopf, Brule, NE; and Morea Shipley, Lingle, WY were awarded the Freshman Top Hand Awards.


Cantrell is a pre-vet major and a member of the Livestock Judging and Show teams.  She works for Lazy M Hart Ranch and next fall plans to work as a tutor in the Center for Tutoring and Learning. Cantrell’s dream is to attend veterinarian school at Colorado State University.



Lolley, according to instructor Amy Smith is “a 67 year old in a 19 year old body.” Lolley is the voice of responsibility in the department.  This spring he served as the auctioneer for the Lancer Livestock Sale and is already making plans for next year.


Schwartzkopf is an agriculture education major and spent much of her spring in the classroom with the Ag Advisor for Torrington/Lingle, Jason Groene.  Schwartzkopf helped enter scores during the State FFA Vet Science contest.  She was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa this spring and is a work study in the Student Center.


Shipley is a freshman in resident status at EWC but a sophomore in credit status.  She was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa this spring and serves as an ambassador for the college.  Although she has only been on the EWC campus one year, she will be graduating this May and transferring to the University of Wyoming this fall to complete her bachelor’s degree in Ag Communications.


The Eastern Wyoming College Livestock Judgers and Show Team were also recognized at the event. This year there were 11 students that participated on both teams and 2 additional students that participated on the Show Team.  “It has been my honor to work with these students throughout the year and to see them accomplish things they never thought they were capable of,” commented EWC Coach and Instructor Dr. Georgia Younglove.


In recognizing the achievements of the livestock judging teams (freshman and sophomore), outstanding individuals for each team were selected. 


This year saw sophomore Hunter Hill recognized for his never-ending dedication to the judging team.  He was one of the few that never missed a contest. Freshman Myca Cantrell received the outstanding talker award for the improvement she has made in reasons room over the last year. Sophomore Jaxson Heyrend and freshman Lukas Simmons were the high point earners for each class.


Block and Bridle members received their National Membership Certificates during the banquet.


Graduating sophomores were recognized for their success in completing their academic path at EWC. Each graduate received a EWC Alumni satchel. Graduates include: Jory Carson; Callie Clingman; Jaxson Heyrend; Hunter Hill; Keith Hodson; Danner Johnson; Cassidy Joslin; Courtney LaMont; Tigh Livermont; Joshua Montel (fall 2017), Cheyenne Napier; Matthew Nicholson; Tyus Olson, Braden Pirrung; Jacey Shaul; Morea Shipley; and Emma Zerbe.


We have so many outstanding students in our department and I enjoy being able to reward the high achievers for all their accomplishments and hard work.  It is a great way to celebrate the end of the freshman year for many students and wish all of our graduating sophomore’s good luck on the next step in their journey,” commented agriculture instructor Kaitlyn Steben.

Category: (none)